Ultimate Dominatrix


Yesterday at work I decided to do a little house cleaning in my office.  I work in healthcare and my facility is feeling a financial crunch, so preparing for the worst I begin sorting through files.

What to keep, what to shred.

While sorting through some working files I ran across the results of a “DiSC” profile.

Several years back; oh, about 4 or 5 I guess, I participated in a leadership mentoring program.  This program lasted a year and paired you up with leaders outside of your regular department and job duties.  It was a very good learning experience for me.

About mid way through this program you were scheduled to complete a self-assessment called a “DiSC” profile.  A professional name for a personality test.  This was a very time consuming assessment and quite thorough.

I had flashbacks to the day I got my results and how I quietly sat and read page after page about myself, based on how I answered questions.  I hid the results in my desk and didn’t share it with my mentor or boss for a couple of weeks.  I was not quite sure how to digest just how I was classified.

“DiSC” ~ each letter is a representation of a person’s “dimension”, let me lay them out for you:

D ~ dominance

i ~ influence

S ~ steadiness

C ~ conscientiousness

Based on how you answer questions in these areas; the combinations are combined to create a personal profile of an individual.  Each area is rated on a scale of 1 to 7.

Typically one area is a little higher than the others and this is what is considered your “classical profile pattern”.  Usually the numbers are not to far out of sync of one another.

And then you have those of US………….that one number is OFF the chart so much the other 3 numbers barely make it on the chart.

I was horrified at my results.

I shared it with no one but my ex-husband and son.

My classic pattern was considered a “Developer” but the description was not of a “developer” at all.

My numbers were as followed:  D ~ 7+, i ~ low 2, S ~ low 2, C ~ low 2.

Remember; the ratings are only 1 to 7, 1 being the lest of intensity and 7 being the highest intensity.

Now refresh your memory on what the letters represented.

My “D” was off the chart!!!

I read to my family the description of my personality, ending with, “Can you believe that?  I don’t act like that at all!”  My ex-husband answered, with every ounce of seriousness he could muster up, “That really surprises you?  You are the ultimate dominatrix.”

My son could not contain his laughter.

I did not find it funny.

Let me share a little bit of the description of the “Developer” ~ strong willed, forceful behavior, shrewdly manipulative, apt to become belligerent (my eyes are bugging out), persistent to obtaining results, critical when standards are not met, lack empathy, dismiss other concerns and controlling.

Again as I sit and read this profile I am choking.  Again I question myself, “Am I really like this?”

I did finally have to share it with my mentor and boss.  I can still hear her voice, “Jeri, you only focused on the harsher characteristic of your profile.  Why did you leave out ~ seeker of new horizons, independent thinker, free of constraining influences, creator of innovative solutions, overcomes obstacles, goal achiever, challenge seeker, problem solver, avoids “passing the buck” and focused?  These are all highly admirable, individual qualities that make good leaders.”

I remember leaving her office feeling better about myself,  promising myself to work on the harsher side of my personality.

Today if I were to take the profile again, would the numbers change?

I doubt it.

The “D”, that now stands for “Dominatrix” and not “Developer” would still be off the chart.

Would I be surprised?  NO!!

I’m probably still considered; by some, as the “ultimate dominatrix”.  But I am more aware of and try to minimize my harsher characteristics.

We are who we are; evenly synced or off the charts.

How boring would it be if we were all the same?  Clones of one another, with no differences or oddities.

Life would be boring without intense passion, intense disagreements, intense kindness and intense love.

I’m ok with me; off the chart though I am ~ it’s ok.

The “ultimate dominatrix” in my little land of Oz. 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Austin
    Oct 05, 2013 @ 10:29:41

    I always thought The Wicked Witch of the West might be into that dominating stuff. Seems like it would make sense given her obsession with those wild heels, her passion for monkeys, and the way she liked to play with fire!

    Like

    Reply

  2. bigdaddywizard
    Oct 05, 2013 @ 11:24:47

    That is a very accurate precise test results. lol…. Your a take charge type of lady and that’s a good quality to have. Are you ready for the beach?

    Like

    Reply

  3. bigdaddywizard
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 16:02:52

    :)))

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Oz

"where the monkeys fly low and the shoes are ruby red"
gainperspectiveblog

Hope in the goodness of Humanity.

404: No Error Found

Because you've found me ;)

Dumbass News

Read By Dumbasses in 187 Countries Around the World!

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

