Mini Me’s


Each morning I wake up; stagger to my bathroom, wash my face and put my contacts in my eyes.

Without them I don’t see very well.

I take a look at my reflection in the mirror and wonder which of the “mini~me’s” I will see today.

Like Polly Pocket miniatures line up on a shelf there are many “mini’s” that make up me.

Will I be the “Lioness” today and roar and claw at everyone I see?  That mini’s dressed in red and ready to pounce off the shelf at any time.  I work to keep her tame and under control.

Perhaps the “Diva” that stands in her stilettos, hands on her hips, dressed to the “T” with her hair and make-up perfect.  Her name is “Vanity” and she’s constantly whispering in my ear about age, wrinkles, side effects of menopause and my damn weight.

She too, I have to keep in check……….she makes me kinda crazy.  She likes to appear often.

Stead fast standing is “Super Mom” in her jeans and tee.  She’s flexing her arms and showing her “guns”.  She’s capable of raising kids, keeping house, working, teaching at the gym and loving her family.

Here lately she stands on the shelf quietly, not needed as often as before her empty nest.  Occasionally she appears for a day or event; but her presence is always there.

There in the shadows is my “Wallflower”, she emerges in large crowds of people I don’t know, in small crowds of people I don’t know, she sits across the table from one person I don’t know. 

I always thought she would fade away as I got older……….but I have realized she is with me forever; her anxiety, sweaty palms and insecurities.

My favorite mini is “Gypsy”, the wild, free spirited mini that stands on my shelf barefoot, dancing and twirling while she sings her favorite songs, her hair is loose and wild, she loves the beach and doesn’t have a care in the world.  This mini makes me smile and I wish I could be her all the time.

I laugh at the “Rachael Raye” wanna be, as she stands poised with frying pan and apron.  Knowing she can barely boil water………..but she gives it hell when she gets a wild hair to jump out of hiding and whip up a Thanksgiving dinner.

I feel sorry for the individuals that fall victims to her attempts.

Then there’s my “Don’t give a Damn” mini, she sits around in ratty clothes, no make-up, dirty hair and could care less about anyone or anything.

I have to keep an eye on her, she can sneak up on me when I least expect it.

I watch my “Denise Austin” mini march in place and pump her arms with enthusiasm.  There are days I want to take her down and make her tap out.  I just don’t want to be that mini sometimes.

Thankfully she’s persistent and we make it to the gym or the walking track together everyday or so.

There is one mini that stands out from the rest.  She has a quiet spirit with a crooked halo and broken wings.  Her presence tries to instill love, happiness, forgiveness and grace.  She nudges me to do the things that are right and fair.  She tells me to be honest, to love hard and turn the other cheek. 

Though she may be a little tattered her mini is stronger than the rest.  She stands in the center and desperately tries to guide the other rebellious “mini’s”.  Her broken wings outstretched, she engulfs the other “mini’s” and pulls them in. 

I look at all my “mini’s”  on that imaginary shelf wrapped up by a mini tattered angel; thankful she scoops them up everyday and drops them down the front of my shirt.  Together all the “mini~me’s” make one single me and leading that single me is a mini, tattered angel with a crooked halo and broken wings.

It’s not easy, but she does the best she can.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bigdaddywizard
    Nov 19, 2013 @ 22:18:35

    your not alone as we search for answers .I want to get to know all of your mini’s…..

    Like

    Reply

  2. Austin
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 05:55:11

    Happy Hump Day to you and all your minis!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Oz

"where the monkeys fly low and the shoes are ruby red"
gainperspectiveblog

Hope in the goodness of Humanity.

404: No Error Found

Because you've found me ;)

Dumbass News

Read By Dumbasses in 187 Countries Around the World!

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

