Oh, how I miss you


I’ve been writing a bit of poetry lately, so it was no surprise to me that I was hit with one this morning.

Still in my ratty lounge pants and tee shirt, I began pulling fixings for a salad out of the fridge.  I like to make a large one that will last most of the week.  As I stood there tearing romaine lettuce and cutting up celery, I got a glimpse of my feet; that were covered in a pair of striped socks.

My first thought, “My socks don’t match anything I’m wearing.” (shoulder shrug and tear more lettuce)

My second thought, “Holy, moly I miss my heels!!!” (all bug eyed)

I stopped what I was doing and jotted down this poem ~

“Oh, how I miss you”

My ruby red slippers sit on a shelf,

in their box, all to their selves.

Gathering dust, with no place to go,

tennys and flats have taken the show.

It’s been to long, I don’t wanna forget,

the way that you feel; the way that you fit.

I stand there longing for your sweet embrace,

I stroke your toes and your heels I trace.

Oh, how I miss, how you make me feel,

standing tall in your stiletto heels.

Maybe; just maybe, I’ll slip you on,

I’ll twirl around to a quiet song.

Remembering days, we’d rush out the door,

anxious to see what the day had in store.

Surely it’s not, only me,

I feel sure, you miss my feet.

So just for today, I think instead,

I’ll just slip you on to make the bed.

 

I decided the salad could wait……………….

I was going to make the bed instead 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Austin
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 18:47:38

    Nice. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Oz

"where the monkeys fly low and the shoes are ruby red"
gainperspectiveblog

Hope in the goodness of Humanity.

404: No Error Found

Because you've found me ;)

Dumbass News

Read By Dumbasses in 187 Countries Around the World!

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

