There’s no Place Like Home


I like to travel.

I’m not very fond of driving; I’d prefer a plane or a ship………..

But I drive a lot.

One child in Waco, one child in College Station, my happy place in Galveston and my home base in Jasper.

I make a big circle, round and round I go.

I guess you could call me a “road warrior”. That’s the new buzz word for someone that travels a lot.

If the shoe fits wear it, right?

Now don’t misunderstand me; I love being home. It’s were all my things are. I don’t have to live outa a suitcase, feel guilty about eating other folks groceries or sleep on an air mattress.

I try to travel light, but by the time I include everything I think I might need, I end up with several bags.

There’s one thing my hosts don’t have to worry about ~ where I’ll bed down.

You see I come and go prepared.

I carry an air mattress in my car.

I used to borrow one. It was one you had to hook up to an air pump and every time I took it to Waco my son-in-law would have to take it in the garage to air it up.

The air pump I had plugged into the adapter thingy in your car.

Then he’d have to carry it through the house and maneuver it to the room I was staying in. And we aren’t talking about a twin size mattress; we’re talking about a full size one.

It was a real pain in the butt!!

Thankfully, since then I’ve upgraded to a mattress with a built-in pump.

Just plug it in and turn it on.

Presto!!!

Instant bed in about 5 minutes.

Another gadget I’m learning to carry with me is a small fan. I’m a “white noise” sleeper and without it I don’t sleep at all.

This makes for horrible visiting, so I’m taking care of that little issue as well. It’s nice to wake up feeling rested when you’re away from home.

But as much as I like to travel and adapt to my surroundings; it never ceases to amaze me how much I realize I miss “home” after I’ve been gone awhile.

As soon as I walk in the door I feel a sense of relief.

There is all my clutter greeting me. There is all my groceries saying, “Don’t be afraid to eat me.” And my dirty clothes basket waiting for my dirty clothes.

But I think the best part about “home” is my bed.

Oh my goodness, I forget how good it feels until I reach down, turn on my fan, pull back the covers and crawl in.

That’s when I realize how much I’ve missed my bed.

I wiggle down into those cold sheets, pull the blankets up around my chin and snuggle my pillow like it’s a long lost lover.

I lay there quietly letting my bed engulf me, listening to the whirling of my fan and the purring of my cat (she’s glad she’s home as well).

I drift off into a peaceful sleep in my little land of Oz, silently whispering, “There’s no place like home, there’s no place like home……………”

A few days of rejuvenation and this “road warrior” is ready to go again.

“Have mattress, will travel!”

But one thing will never change; when I pull in that driveway and open my door; I know…………………

There’s no place like home.

20140418-104612.jpg
These little ruby slippers were Christmas ornaments. They sit on my end table year around.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Starralee
    Apr 18, 2014 @ 14:26:21

    Love the ruby slippers, Dorothy! I talked to my cousin, “St Theresa”, today and told her that I’d “met” you. She laughed when I shared that you said almost everyone’s related in Texas!

    Like

    Reply

    • RealLifeAfter40
      Apr 18, 2014 @ 16:10:40

      Lol!!! I bet she agreed. Texas is a special place with special people. “Special” being a descriptive word πŸ˜‰

      Like

      Reply

    • RealLifeAfter40
      Apr 18, 2014 @ 19:17:45

      Funny little story behind those little slippers. A few weeks after Christmas I was at one of those large craft places and decided to look through the picked over jumble of mess that was left from the Christmas Decor. You know when they mark everything 75% off or kinda say “please just take it”. Well amongst all the broken ornaments I found this little red shoe. No can do, I had to have another………..I had to have a pair. I looked and looked, had my friend looking and looking. I was just about to give up when I spotted another one in a heap on a bottom shelf about 3 rows over from the first one. Had no idea how much they were, didn’t care, I had to have them. Got to the register and they were .50 cents a piece!!! 1.00 whole dollar………cheapest darn pair of shoes I’ve ever bought!!! And so worth it πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

      • Starralee
        Apr 18, 2014 @ 19:49:58

        We’re definitely related! I live for bargains–and when I can find a real treasure (like those shoes) for a bargain price, oh my–I think of died and gone to Heaven! I’m on Soc Sec–a pittance that God multiplies and blesses beyond my wildest imagination–so bargains are delightful!

        Like

      • RealLifeAfter40
        Apr 18, 2014 @ 19:53:25

        Amen!! I understand Soc Sec. Mine is Unemp Ins. and he will provide!!

        Like

      • Starralee
        Apr 18, 2014 @ 20:01:16

        One of the pastors I listen to online is Robert Morris (Gateway Church in Southlake, TX), and 3 years ago I heard his message on tithing–and I was sold! Ever since I began tithing, I’ve felt absolutely rich! It’s one of those things you have to believe, to see–and HE really does love us enough to provide some luxuries, as well as our needs. That’s what totally blew me away!

        Like

  2. Austin
    Apr 18, 2014 @ 18:43:57

    How do you celebrate Easter in Oz? Do your Flying Monkeys help you to hide all the ruby eggs?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Oz

"where the monkeys fly low and the shoes are ruby red"
gainperspectiveblog

Hope in the goodness of Humanity.

404: No Error Found

Because you've found me ;)

Dumbass News

Read By Dumbasses in 187 Countries Around the World!

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

